Chris Del Conte named to College Football Playoff selection committee

Want information on Texas Football and recruiting from Eric Nahlin, Justin Wells, Ian Boyd, Scipio Tex, Joe Cook, Gerry Hamilton, and Bobby Burton? Sign up for Inside Texas HERE today!

Texas athletics director Chris Del Conte was named to the College Football Playoff selection committee, CFP executive director Bill Hancock announced Tuesday.

Del Conte will serve a three-year term. He joins Kentucky athletics director Mitch Barnhart, NC State athletics director Boo Corrigan, former Nebraska lineman Will Shields, and Virginia Union University athletics director Joe Taylor as new members.

“Mitch, Boo, Chris, Will and Joe will continue the integrity that has been the committee’s hallmark through our seven seasons,” Hancock said. “Their knowledge, experience and character, along with their love of the sport of college football, will make the transition seamless.”

Iowa athletic director Gary Barta will serve as selection committee chairman for a second year.

The CFP selection committee is responsible for selecting the top four teams in the playoff and assigning them to semifinal games as well as ranking the other top 25 teams. The committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week leading up to its final selections. For more information on the selection committee, visit