FootballFootball Recruiting

Four-star Xavion Alford picks Texas

Want daily Texas Longhorns content on the latest team and recruiting information from Eric Nahlin, Justin Wells, Ian Boyd, Scipio Tex, and Joe Cook? Sign up HERE today!

The embarrassment of riches residing in the secondary at UT just got a little richer.

Shadow Creek (Alvin) four-star safety Xavion Alford has committed to Texas and the Class of 2020. The 6-foot-0, 180-pound field ranger held offers from Alabama, Texas A&M, Ohio State, LSU, and others.

Alford joins the 2020 secondary group of Kitan Crawford, Ethan Pouncey, and Jerrin Thompson. He’s versatile, and can play multiple positions in the back end from nickel to field safety. Big get for the Horns and Co-DC/safeties coach Craig Naivar.

Joe Cook on Alford: In its first season playing varsity football, Shadow Creek made it to the 5A state finals thanks to significant contributions from Alford.

The self-proclaimed “100 yard landlord” lives up to the billing making instinctual plays on the ball on the perimeter and in the middle of the field. He’s constantly in position in coverage against 5A slot receivers, and shows an above-average ability to play the ball in air.

Athletically, it’s obvious Alford has the ability to get to the right spot at the right time. His highlights from his junior season primarily show him playing the pass with limited to no highlights against the run. It’s something he’ll have to do at a highlight level at Texas with the emphasis on funneling plays toward safeties in Texas’ defense. He’s not afraid to throw his body around. Maintaining his athleticism and adding mass will help Alford succeed in college.

Alford is the 16th commit in Texas’ 2020 class joining Princely Umanmielen (Manor), Jerrin Thompson (Lufkin), Ethan Pouncey (Winter Park – FL), Bijan Roinson (Salpointe Catholic – AZ), Andrej Karic (Southlake Carroll), Van Fillinger (Corner Canyon – UT), Vernon Broughton (Cy-Ridge), Prince Dorbah (Highland Park), Kitan Crawford (John Tyler), Ja’Quinden Jackson (Duncanville), Jaden Hullaby (Bishop Dunne), Jaylen Garth (Port Neches-Groves), Jake Majors (Prosper), Logan Parr (Helotes O’Connor), and Hudson Card (Lake Travis).