Pierce named Big 12 coach of the year, Madden named pitcher of the year as Texas accumulates several baseball honors

Want the latest information on Texas Longhorns baseball and other sports? Sign up for Inside Texas HERE today!

Texas head coach David Pierce was named the Big 12 coach of the year, while Ty Madden was named the conference’s pitcher of the year. Several other Longhorns received conference honors, which were released by the Big 12 on Monday.

Pierce, 162-90 in his five seasons in Austin, collected his second coach of the year award from the Big 12 joining his other conference championship season of 2018. Madden, the first Longhorn to win pitcher of the year since Taylor Jungmann in 2011, was also named to the All-Big 12 first team. He joined starter Tristan Stevens, second baseman Mitchell Daly, and designated hitter Ivan Melendez.

Madden was 6-3 in 2021 and 3-3 in Big 12 play. His numbers dipped some during conference play, but he still boasted a K/9 IP of over 10 against Big 12 opponents. He finished the season with a 2.55 ERA and a WHIP of 1.07 in 81.1 innings. Stevens was 6-2 in conference play, and surrendered nine total walks to Big 12 hitters in 54 innings. He also posted a WHIP of 1.07 for the entire 2021 season across 83.1 innings of work.

Daly hit .356 in Big 12 play with 31 hits and 12 RBI. Melendez slashed .338/.463/.805 in conference, including nine home runs, five doubles, two triples, and 21 RBI. Melendez was one of two unanimous selections to the first team.

Third baseman Cam Williams and center fielder Mike Antico were named to the second team. Williams led Texas in hitting during Big 12 games, with a .360 average and five homers plus 18 RBI in 21 games. Antico hit .303 in conference, a large improvement over his season-long average of .262. Antico led the Big 12 in stolen bases with 25.

Catcher Silas Ardoin, shortstop Trey Faltine, left-hander Pete Hansen, outfielder Douglas Hodo, reliever Aaron Nixon, right-hander Tanner Witt, and first baseman Zach Zubia received honorable mention recognition.

Daly, Nixon, and Witt all were named to the conference’s all-freshman team.

Texas’ four first-team members are the most since 2011.

Texas Tech infielder Jace Jung was named player of the year, while Oklahoma State’s Christian Encarnacion-Strand took home newcomer of the year honors. TCU’s Brayden Taylor was named freshman of the year.

The full list of honors can be found here.