FootballFootball Recruiting

Sanders, Brooks named Mr. Texas Football finalists

Want information on Texas Football recruiting from Eric Nahlin, Justin Wells, Ian Boyd, Scipio Tex, Joe Cook, Gerry Hamilton, and Bobby Burton? Sign up for Inside Texas HERE today!

2021 Texas commits Ja’Tavion Sanders and Jonathon Brooks were named finalists for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year award, presented by Dave Campbell’s Texas Football.

Sanders, a five-star defensive end/tight end prospect from Ryan High School in Denton, committed to Texas in September of 2019. He accumulated 658 receiving yards and 13 total touchdowns this season, and added 4.0 sacks on defense per MaxPreps. The Raiders are slated to take on College Station in the area round of the UIL 5A Division I playoffs this weekend.

Brooks, a three-star running back from Hallettsville, committed to Texas on May 15. Brooks’ Brahmas will play Tuscola Jim Ned this Thursday in the UIL 3A Division I state finals.

Connor Weigman, a Texas offer in the 2022 class, was also named a finalist.

Mr. Texas Football annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Fans can cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football at The winner of the 2020 Mr. Texas Football Award will be announced prior to the 2020 Mercari Texas Bowl and awarded to the recipient before the game on December 31 at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Cover photo courtesy of the Victoria Advocate